Passer au contenu principal
Baker Hughes + Workiva

Baker Hughes Blends Simplification, Investor-Grade Data, and Automation to Meet Today’s ESG Demands

Disconnected Challenges

  • En tant que fournisseur mondial de technologies énergétiques de premier plan, avec un objectif de zéro émission nette d'ici 2050 et un objectif intermédiaire de réduction de 50 % des émissions d'ici 2030, Baker Hughes souhaitait étayer sa stratégie d'entreprise par un cadre de développement durable solide
  • Il est nécessaire que le reporting repose sur un nouveau fondement 

Résultats

  • Des données fiables pour la transparence avec les investisseurs et autres parties prenantes clés
  • Visibilité via des tableaux de bord 
  • Flexibilité face à l'évolution des demandes ESG 

Pourquoi ils ont choisi Workiva

La plateforme de reporting cloud de Workiva a permis à Baker Hughes de disposer de données plus précises pour prendre de meilleures décisions fondées sur les données. La société avait également besoin d'une plateforme pour faciliter l'automatisation et la publication d'informations sur le développement durable, favoriser la collaboration avec les parties prenantes et aider ses clients à atteindre leurs objectifs de transition énergétique.
logo Baker Hughes

Solutions Workiva

  • Reporting ESG

Le développement durable a toujours été important pour Baker Hughes, mais en mettant davantage l'accent sur la transparence pour en établir des rapports, l'entreprise ambitionne de garder une longueur d'avance. Afin d'atteindre cet objectif, elle utilise la plateforme Workiva pour le reporting SEC, le reporting ESG, le reporting statutaire mondial et le reporting gouvernemental.  

Cet aspect revêt une importance particulière pour Irina Makina, Responsable du développement durable chez Baker Hughes. Son travail consiste à diriger le développement et l'exécution des stratégies de Baker Hughes en matière de développement durable et de transition énergétique pour atteindre l'objectif de zéro émission nette. « Je stimule notre performance en matière de durabilité d'entreprise, le filtrage ESG dans l'activité des fusions et acquisitions, et nos solutions de stratégie commerciale pour la décarbonisation », a déclaré Irina. Baker Hughes conçoit, fabrique et fournit des technologies qui transforment les services dans les chaînes de valeur énergétiques et industrielles. Par exemple, la société favorise les technologies de transition énergétique dans le domaine du CCUS (captage, stockage, transport et valorisation du CO2) ou de l'hydrogène, qui sont essentielles pour atteindre les objectifs mondiaux de décarbonisation.

 

L'environnement du reporting ESG étant en constante évolution, Irina et son équipe savaient qu'elles avaient besoin d'une approche flexible et pluriannuelle pour s'assurer qu'elles sont prêtes à répondre aux exigences en constante évolution en matière de divulgation ESG. 

Afin de bien se préparer à l'avenir, il leur incombe de mettre en place un dispositif proactif doté de multiples fonctions pour produire des rapports solides et intégrés. L'équipe a collaboré avec PwC compte tenu de son expertise en matière de création de valeur à long terme par le biais d'une approche intégrée de la durabilité, fondée sur les données. 

« C'était un véritable plaisir de travailler avec PwC », a déclaré Irina. « Cette société nous a aidés à créer une base pour nous développer, adopter de nouvelles normes et fournir des informations importantes à nos actionnaires, qu'il s'agisse de nos parties prenantes internes, de nos employés et de notre direction, ou de parties prenantes externes et du grand public. »

La stratégie de l'entreprise reposant sur un solide cadre de durabilité, Irina est consciente de l'importance accrue accordée aux données sur la durabilité. Baker Hughes considère le changement climatique comme l'une des plus grandes menaces auxquelles le monde est confronté, et une menace qui pose des défis à son entreprise. D'autre part, soutenir la transition vers l'énergie à faible teneur en carbone peut permettre à Baker Hughes de renforcer sa résilience en offrant de nouvelles possibilités de développer son portefeuille technologique à faible teneur en carbone et pénétrer de nouveaux marchés. 

"We have this incredible opportunity derived from our corporate strategy,” Irina said. “Our low-carbon energy technology portfolio is the fastest-growing portfolio from a capital allocation perspective. At the same time, we recognize the need for investment-grade ESG data to build trust with our stakeholders.” This is clear across the industry, as stakeholders are increasingly focusing on ESG metrics while evaluating corporate performance, even as the regulatory frameworks and standards continue to evolve.  

 

La transparence n'est cependant pas une nouveauté pour Baker Hughes. La société a commencé à faire du reporting sur le Carbon Disclosure Project en 2010. Et en 2019, elle a franchi le cap du reporting conforme aux principales normes GRI. En 2020, le rapport de Baker Hughes faisait référence à la TCFD, la Task Force for Climate-Related Disclosures créée par le Conseil de stabilité financière.
 
« Le développement durable est au cœur de la finance d'entreprise chez Baker Hughes. Nous considérons les facteurs ESG comme des leviers essentiels pour favoriser la transformation au sein de notre entreprise et dans l'ensemble de notre secteur. Plus important encore, notre engagement dans le domaine du changement climatique et de la transition énergétique est un élément essentiel de la stratégie de croissance de notre entreprise. » 

Une fois que le fondement du régime de reporting a été établi, Irina et son équipe savaient qu'elles devaient mettre au point des systèmes de données et des technologies pour réellement renforcer ce reporting. C'est alors que Baker Hughes s'est associée à PwC en matière de gouvernance de l'information et à Workiva pour simplifier les données et l'automatisation.

 

Un plan stratégique consacré au reporting des données et axé sur les mesures pertinentes est un élément essentiel de l'écosystème de reporting ESG. Baker Hughes a décidé à l'avance d'établir un cadre solide de gouvernance de l'information ESG afin de permettre des processus et des contrôles robustes de quantification des données pour les indicateurs ESG. Cela est particulièrement nécessaire, car une approche définie de la gestion et du reporting des informations ESG a permis d'améliorer la surveillance et la crédibilité des indicateurs signalés et des données sous-jacentes. 

Sachant qu'une structure de contrôle définie est essentielle à une automatisation réussie, Irina et son équipe ont utilisé la plateforme de reporting cloud de Workiva pour répondre à leurs besoins de consommation de données et à leur intérêt pour l'automatisation. 

« Le tableau de bord permet de prendre des décisions fondées sur les données et d'optimiser les divulgations sur la durabilité », a-t-elle indiqué. Ce fondement est essentiel à la stratégie interne de Baker Hughes et à la collaboration avec les parties prenantes. « Nous nous engageons à répondre aux besoins de nos clients, en particulier en les aidant à atteindre leurs objectifs de transition énergétique. Workiva nous aide à y parvenir. » 

L'amélioration est un objectif permanent pour Irina et son équipe. « C'est une expérience de plusieurs années pour nous. »

Pour Baker Hughes, la définition du régime de reporting, la mise en place d'un plan stratégique et la création de politiques, procédures et contrôles définis étaient des étapes essentielles pour élaborer un écosystème ESG significatif. En collaborant avec PwC et en utilisant la plateforme Workiva pour contribuer à intégrer l'automatisation au processus, Baker Hughes a pu amplifier sa stratégie de durabilité d'entreprise et sa gestion des parties prenantes tout en s'efforçant de travailler plus efficacement.

 

L’inscription en ligne n’est pas disponible pour le moment.

Veuillez envoyer un e-mail à events@workiva pour vous inscrire à cet événement.

Nos formulaires sont temporairement indisponibles.

Veuillez nous contacter à l’adresse suivante : info@workiva.com

Nos formulaires sont temporairement indisponibles.

Veuillez nous contacter à l’adresse suivante : info@workiva.com

Skip to main content
Baker Hughes + Workiva

Baker Hughes Blends Simplification, Investor-Grade Data, and Automation to Meet Today’s ESG Demands

Disconnected Challenges

  • As a leading global energy technology provider with a  net-zero target by 2050 and an interim target of 50% emissions reduction by 2030, Baker Hughes wanted to underpin its corporate strategy with a robust sustainability framework
  • Needed a new reporting regimen foundation 

Connected Results

  • Trusted data for transparency with investors and other key stakeholders
  • Visibility via dashboards 
  • Flexibility to changing ESG demands 

Why They Chose Workiva

Workiva's cloud-based reporting platform empowered Baker Hughes with more accurate data to make improved data-driven decisions. They also needed a platform to help with automation and sustainability disclosures, drive engagement with stakeholders, and assist their customers with energy transition objectives.

baker hughes logo

Workiva Solutions

  • ESG Reporting

Sustainability has always been important to Baker Hughes, but with increased focus on transparency to report it, the company aims to stay ahead of the game. To achieve this goal, it uses the Workiva platform for SEC reporting, ESG reporting, global statutory reporting, and government reporting.  

This is of particular importance to Irina Markina, Corporate Sustainability Manager at Baker Hughes. Her job is to lead the development and execution of Baker Hughes' sustainability and net-zero energy transition strategies. "I drive our corporate sustainability performance, ESG screening in mergers and acquisitions activity, and our business strategy solutions for decarbonization," said Irina. Baker Hughes designs, manufactures, and services transformative technologies across the energy and industrial value chains. For instance, it drives energy transition technologies in CCUS or hydrogen that are critical for meeting global decarbonization targets.

 

Future-proofing with a multi-year approach

Because the landscape of ESG reporting is constantly changing, Irina and her team knew they needed an agile, multi-year approach to ensure that they’re ready for the always-evolving ESG disclosure requirements. 

To be truly future-ready, they would have to create a deliberate foundation with multiple functions to deliver a robust, integrated report. The team collaborated with PwC because of its expertise in creating long-term value through an integrated, data-driven approach to sustainability. 

“It’s been a true delight working with PwC,” Irina said. “They’ve helped us to create a foundation to grow, to adopt new standards, and to deliver disclosures that are significant to our stakeholders—be it our internal stakeholders, our employees and management, or external stakeholders and the broader public.”

With company strategy underpinned by a strong sustainability framework, Irina is aware of the heightened focus on sustainability data overall. Baker Hughes recognizes climate change as one of the biggest threats the world faces, and one that poses challenges to its business. On the other hand, supporting the low-carbon energy transition can help enhance Baker Hughes’ business resilience by providing new opportunities to grow its low-carbon energy technology portfolio, as well as enter new markets. 

"We have this incredible opportunity derived from our corporate strategy,” Irina said. “Our low-carbon energy technology portfolio is the fastest-growing portfolio from a capital allocation perspective. At the same time, we recognize the need for investment-grade ESG data to build trust with our stakeholders.” This is clear across the industry, as stakeholders are increasingly focusing on ESG metrics while evaluating corporate performance, even as the regulatory frameworks and standards continue to evolve.  

 

Driving transformation with ESG

Transparency isn't new for Baker Hughes though. The company began reporting to the Carbon Disclosure Project in 2010. And in 2019, it reached the milestone of reporting in accordance with the GRI Core Standards. In 2020, Baker Hughes' reporting referenced TCFD, the Task Force for Climate-Related Disclosures created by the Financial Stability Board.
 
"Sustainability is core to corporate finance at Baker Hughes. We see ESG factors as key levers to drive transformation within our company and across our industry. Most importantly, our commitment to climate change and energy transition is a core part of our company's growth strategy." 

Once the foundational layer of the reporting regimen was laid, Irina and her team knew that they needed to build data systems and technology to truly empower that reporting. That's when Baker Hughes partnered with PwC on information governance and with Workiva to simplify data and automation.

 

How Baker Hughes increased oversight

A strategic plan committed to reporting data, and focused on relevant metrics, is a critical element to the ESG reporting ecosystem. Baker Hughes decided early on to establish a strong ESG information governance framework to enable robust data quantification processes and controls for ESG metrics. This is especially necessary because having a defined approach to managing and reporting ESG information has increased oversight and credibility around the metrics being reported and the underlying data. 

Knowing that a defined control structure is a critical foundation for successful automation, Irina and her team utilized Workiva's cloud-based reporting platform to support their data consumption needs and interest in automation. 

"Dashboarding supports data-driven decision-making, as well as optimized sustainability disclosures," she noted. Having that foundation is critical to Baker Hughes' internal strategy and for driving engagement with stakeholders. "We are very focused on and committed to meeting our customers' needs, especially helping them with their energy transition objectives. Workiva helps us accomplish this." 

Improvement is a continuous goal for Irina and her team. “This is a multi-year journey for us."

For Baker Hughes, the value of defining its reporting regimen, building a strategic plan, and creating defined policies, procedures, and controls were all critical steps to developing a meaningful ESG ecosystem. By collaborating with PwC and using Workiva's platform to help build automation into the process, Baker Hughes was able to amplify its corporate sustainability strategy and stakeholder management while striving to work more efficiently.

 

Online registration is currently unavailable.

Please email events@workiva to register for this event.

Our forms are currently down.

Please contact us at info@workiva.com

Our forms are currently down.

Please contact us at info@workiva.com

Thank you

A Workiva team member will follow up with you shortly.

Thank you for registering

You'll receive a confirmation email shortly.

Thank you

You are now subscribed to receive blog updates.

Thank you

Your preferences have been updated.